

Joint Communiqué

12 November 2024



Advancing Al adoption and sustainable innovation

In recognition of the urgent need to shape a responsible and sustainable future for digital education, the members of the Digital Education Council (DEC), together with stakeholders from academia, international organisations, and governments, convened for the inaugural DEC Global Summit in Singapore on 5-6 November 2024. With representatives from over 20 countries, we gathered to discuss global challenges and explore key actionable strategies for integrating digital and artificial intelligence technologies in higher education and skills development.

Acknowledging the transformative role of these innovations, we affirm our commitment to leverage our global platform to drive positive change in the sector. We collectively agree to:

- Drive Al literacy: We commit to supporting educators, students, and professionals to equip everyone with essential digital and Al competencies.
- Cultivate environments for Al adoption: We commit to fostering environments that support a people-led culture of innovation to facilitate Al adoption in education.
- Enable appropriate use of AI: We commit to designing and communicating transparent guidelines that define and enable appropriate and ethical use of AI.
- Maintain relevance at speed: We commit to developing strategies to maintain curricula relevance, at speed with the rapidly-evolving pace of industry.
- Measure sustainability: We commit to creating metrics and comprehensive frameworks that facilitate the impact measurement of sustainability initiatives.



Signed,

Venky Shankararaman, Vice Provost (Education), Singapore Management University

Pey Woan Lee, Dean Yong Pung How School of Law, Singapore Management University

Ivan Bofarull, Chief Innovation Officer, Esade

Sean McMinn, Director of Center for Education Innovation, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Erfan Mojaddam, Deputy Chief Academic Technology Officer, University of California Berkeley

Rui Su, Chief of Knowledge Production and Communications, International Centre for Higher Education Innovation under the auspices of UNESCO

Laurence Liew, Director, Al Singapore

Suzanne Dove, AVP Strategy & Innovation, Bentley University

Huinan (Rebecca) Zeng, Al and Automation Lead, King's College London

Amin Ech-Chadli, Head of Digital Innovation for Student Success, King's College London

Kevin Dunn, Provost, Western Sydney University

Maryanne Dever, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President, Education, Western Sydney University

Cheng Zhang, Professor, Fudan University

Robin Ajdari, EVP Data, Innovation-Experimentation and Digital Transformation, ESSEC Business School

Wendy James, Director, Gwenna Moss Centre, University of Saskatchewan

Pritam Ranjan, Professor, Indian Institute of Management Indore

Silvana Pérez Läherinta, Digital Pedagogy Specialist, Aalto University

Nick Barniville, Founder, Gomera Tech

June Chan, Head of Technology-enhanced Teaching, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Aindril De, Chief Academic Officer, Amity University Online

Konstantinos Diamantaras, Vice Rector, International Hellenic University

Cosmin Enache, Vice Rector, West University of Timisoara

Alkiviadis Tsimpiris, Professor, International Hellenic University

lan Fenwick, Director, Sasin School of Management

Marta Pentek, Obuda University, Professor

Dale Pike, Associate Vice Provost, Technology-enhanced Learning, Virginia Tech

Beatrice Chu, Head of Professional Development, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Pankaj Goel, CEO/MD, Analytics Institute of Australia

Abhilasha Goel, Director, Pass Education Group

Simon Sheather, Dean of the Gatton College of Business and Economics, University of Kentucky

Munirpallam Venkataramanan, Pro Vice Chancellor, FLAME University

Sorabh Bajaj, Director, FLAME University

Francois Bogacz, Head Learning and Innovation, Executive Development Division, Singapore

Management University

Himanshu Rai, Director, Indian Institute of Management Indore

Joon Nak Choi, Adjunct Associate Professor, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Wan Ying Tay, First Vice President, Learning & Development (former), UOB



Alain Goudey, Associate Dean for Digital, NEOMA Business School

Douglas Arner, Kerry Holdings Professor in Law, University of Hong Kong

Michael Low, Deputy Director, Curriculum Development & Digitalisation, Singapore Management University

Jeremy Ruiters, Dean, African Leadership University

Kylie Colvin, Chief Strategy and Operations Officer, University of Nottingham Malaysia

Benjamin Six, Director of Innovation - Experimentation, ESSEC Business School

Georgescu Laurentiu, Administrative General Manager, West University of Timișoara

Patricia Angela Abu, Associate Professor, Ateneo de Manila University

Amit Vatsa, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Management Indore

Maura Ratia, Pedagogical Specialist, Aalto University School of Business

Apurva Ganoo, Lecturer in Entrepreneurship, Aalto University

Shantanu Bhattacharya, Lee Kong Chian Professor of Operations Management, Singapore Management University

Mary-Joan Potvin, Lecturer Accounting, Bentley University

Galvin Radley Ngo, Director, Ateneo Institute for the Science and Art of Learning and Teaching, Ateneo de Manila University

Leland Dela Cruz Ateneo de Manila University Assistant Vice President for Social and Environmental Engagement for Development and Sustainability

Emmanuel Fernandes, Director of the Pedagogical Innovation Platform, HEC Lausanne

Ivanna Tan, Deputy Director, Sustainability Blueprint Programme, Singapore Management University **Monica Agarwal**, Director of Academics, Amity University Online

Meloney Brazzola, Chief Corporate Communications Officer, EHL Hospitality Business School

Martine Ferry, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, emlyon business school

Jennifer Xu, Professor of Computer Information Systems, Bentley University

Anné Hendrik Verhoef, Director of the School of Philosophy, North-West University

Nancy Turner, Associate Vice Provost, Teaching and Learning, University of Saskatchewan

Danny Bielik, President, Digital Education Council

Alessandro Di Lullo, Chief Executive Officer, Digital Education Council

